Click-onto the PHOTO to Register for the Operator Retraining Program   OR...you can register via telephone at 800 - 381 - 8729!


 

We offer these classes conveniently-throughout the State of Connecticut, with 

locations in each of the eight Counties!  


Operator Retraining Locations

 

Branford

Cromwell

Danbury

Dayville

East Hartford

East Windsor

Hamden

Huntington

Manchester

Meriden

New Britain

New London

Niantic

Norwalk

Norwich

Old Saybrook

Southbury

Southington

Stonington

Storrs (UCONN)

Stratford

Torrington

Vernon

Waterbury

West Haven

Wethersfield

 

Additional Sites will become activated soon.

Check-back periodically for updates.

 

 

 

You will need to take the OPERATOR RETRAINING CLASS if you are in one of the following categories:

 

A motor vehicle operator who is 24-years of age or younger who has two convictions involving either a moving violation or a suspension violation on his or her driving history must attend an Operator Retraining Program.

 

An operator 25-years of age or older and has three convictions involving either a moving or a suspension violation on his or her driving history must attend an Operator Retraining Program.  The list of moving and supension violations can be found in Connecticut State Law (Section 14-111g).

 

Failure to attend a retraining class will result in suspension of your operator's license and/or your privilege to operate and/or obtain a license in the State of Connecticut.  Removal of the suspension will only occur after the DMV receives confirmation from the vendor that you have completed this class prior to the effective date of suspension.  Completion of the class on or after the effective date of suspension will require payment of the restoration fee in the amount of $175 by check or money order made-payable to "DMV" through the mail to the following address:

 

State of Connecticut

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver Services Division

60 State Street

Wethersfield, CT  06161-2525

 

Operators are strongly encouraged to complete the retraining class at least two weeks prior to the effective date of suspension. 

 

New Law Regarding Operator Retraining Program

Effective October 1, 2011

 

After completion of an Operator Retraining Program, a motor vehicle driver must attain thirty-six consecutive months without any additional moving violations or suspension violations specified in Connecticut General Statute (14-111g(a)).  If an additional violation as specified in 14-111g(a) is added to the driving history, the Commissioner shall suspend such person's driver's license or driving privilege for:

 

30-Days upon a first conviction for any specified moving violation or suspension violation;

60-Days upon a second conviction for any specified moving violation or suspension violation; and;

90-Days for a third or subsequent conviction for any specified moving violation or suspension violation.

 

When you are eligible for restoration, you must submit a restoration fee in the amount of $175 by check or money order made payable to "DMV' by mail to the address below.

 

Please include your name, date-of-birth, and current address with any correspondence, and allow 30-days for processing.

 

State of Connecticut

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver Services Division

60 State Street

Wethersfield, CT  06161-2525